Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Desolé

Regular

Desolé

Desolate. Desolate. Desolate. Desolate. Desolate. Staring out at the cold, shadow wasteland of demolished buildings and the frozen ghosts of our transgressions that linger among them, I knew that there was not a better word in our lost language to better describe the fears of our present. I'm not a linguist, but before the world ended, I studied a little French. "Je suis desolé" means that I am sorry, or that I am full of regrets.

Desolé. Desolate.

Our endless nightmare seems full of our regrets, of the lives that we have lost, of the things we will never become, the sorrow-tainted glory of our past fades in the everlasting night of our present. We are shaped into monsters, born of our regrets.

Je suis desolé.

I am sorry to use metaphors so close to home. To describe ourselves as monsters is to limit our own humanity; to define ourselves by our loss is to live forever in absence. I do not want to live forever. I do not want to live forever in absence.

---

Three weeks ago, I left the city, and took a car and drove as fast as I could to Iowa. The roads were a mess, but I chose one of those new fancy Hummers, taking just a brief moment to hotwire it. I drove fast so the ravaged monstrosities couldn’t chase me. It’s not that I can’t deal with the occasional one or two, but even with all my inhuman strength, I don’t particularly want to take the chance of fighting off a group of them.

I reached Iowa in only two days, even though I often had to skirt the highway collisions and stop at gas stations considering the Hummer soaked up gas like a fat kid with a slurpee. I killed 26 of them on the way, as I couldn’t avoid being ambushed at the gas stations. I didn’t run into any of my kind, or survivors.

I didn’t mean to end up in the farm lands of Iowa, but that’s when I ran out of gas. I hadn’t the foresight to stock an extra gas can. Being ambushed by those creatures did little to help my memory.