Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cheating Obsession

Regular

Cheating Obsession

Hmmm how to start this.

I started playing the game back when there were boats, yeah age one. Played the game through all of the great times. There were 3 different servers you could play on depending on your skill level. WoL, Battlefields and then the Genesis server came along for beta testing.

At that time there were 60-80,000 players playing the game. It was hot! Everyone wanted to play the new game on the net. You could play with people all over the world.

There was a problem though, people were cheating/breaking the rules so they could play with their R/L friends.

Who wanted to be in a KD with 24 other people they didn't know? Not many people did but Mehul wanted it that way so he made no provisions to allow friends to play in the same KD.

Mehul is so obsessed with cheating that he start deleting whole kingdoms of 25 players. Yes, I saw this a few times but at that point of the game 25 players was nothing when you consider the game was being played by 60-80,000.

Mehul finally gets tired of the game management and sells out. The game was already coming to a crashing halt. Being a free game he counted on advertisements to keep the game running but as he said in an interview the game had lasted longer than he thought possible.

New owners take the game over and try to revamp the game, bring back the glory days and the money. They come up with a way for people to play in the same KD so that is fixed but they still aren't getting the players they need to get the advertising dollars. Add in a few more tweaks and they come up with a way for family members to play together. Ah, some new old blood returns to the game. Brother and sister can now play the game from the same IP. Just follow the rules and no problem.

Then the obsession. Cheaters we can't have cheaters.