Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Overpopulation does not affect wizards?

Overpopulation does not affect wizards?

Hey all,

I'm kinda new to this game and was reading the wiki.

"Population exceeds Max Population by 20%: Your thieves will refuse to work."

Why not wizards as well? It seems unfair for hybrids that choose A/T instead of A/M. Wouldn't that mean, when chained, unfortunately for A/T, all the money spent pumping thieves suddenly becomes useless, while for A/M, they smile upon being chained, as their WPA increases to Land Lust back their land?

Am I missing something from a "balanced" perspective?

Thanks.

Post Demon
    A/m does NOT want to be chained if they have any kind of good wpa to start. The reasons why are obvious.

Nooblet, I clearly understand that no one likes to be chained, lol.

The question was, "Population exceeds Max Population by 20%: Your thieves will refuse to work." Why not wizards as well?

Post Demon
    Because eventually a chained province will have to release wizards, and wizards are far more expensive than thieves.

There's balance for you.

It seems that the same thing would be required for an attacker/thief too?

They're both going to have to release their thieves/wizards anyway.

But with respect to that, why disable the choice of not using thieves while being overpopulated by 20% while wizards are able to still cast spells?

Your argument there is that Wizards are far more valuable than thieves right? They're kinda like a "special" unit? What makes thieves far less valuable?

As a mystic starting from the start of the age, running about 20-30% Guilds, these "special" units comes free everyday. Also wizards lost from failed spells are far less than from thievery operations AND don't we have buildings that deal with thieves? Albeit a small deterrent for super thieves.