Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Regarding Jerks v Crazies

Forum Fanatic

Regarding Jerks v Crazies

Hello all,

I would like to post some thoughts on the conflict with crazies. There is a summary at the bottom.

I want to start by saying that I admit jerks behaved somewhat poorly and did some wrong things throughout this period. It was bad initial diplo of me to jump straight to "we will farm out to godly" from the 5k request. Jerks could definitely have handled it better. We made some hostile comments that are not helpful to successful diplomacy. Further, I agree that farming out is in nearly all cases not the right choice and isn't good for a competitive game. I want to offer an explanation for what we did.

Jerks players have a general dislike for giving land for cfs and would rather fight over it. As far as I can tell, jerks has always been this way, long before I started playing here. This was one of the main motivations throughout the conflict.

Pretty early in the age, we exchanged a couple hits with Expendables and they gave us an eoacf for basically net zero land. This may have been their strategic play but my feeling is that giving us an EOACF so early in the age was pretty kind. This was another of the main motivations underlying the situation.

CJ requested 5k acres for cf. I agree/admit that CJ's offer for 5k for eoacf was a reasonable request and not a bad deal. However, the fact that their main competition gave a free eoacf very early, combined with a preference to fight over land, made us feel like agreeing to the deal was the wrong decision. We made other offers but diplo failed.