Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Land Based Gains system

Post Fiend

Land Based Gains system

Hello,

I started playing Utopia right when the NW based gains system was implemented. Can anyone explain to me how land based gains work? Does this mean deep chaining will be more difficult?

Strategy Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by Legality View Post
    Hello,

I started playing Utopia right when the NW based gains system was implemented. Can anyone explain to me how land based gains work?
    Land based gains means your gains depend only on the relative acres between the you and who u hit.

In the past(nw based gains) hiting someone who was "Fat" meant if i was 300k nw i might hit someone who is also 300k nw but has 2k acres while i only have 1500 acres. I'd get base gains off their 2k acres, since 300k=300k. Land based gains means if i hit that same person i'd get LESS of their land because 2000=/=1500.

In the future (land based gains) means to hit someone who is "fat" if im 300k nw and 1500 acres i may hit someone who is 150k nw and 1500 acres. Even though i have twice their nw since 1500=1500 my "best" gains is hitting them. If i were to hit someone who was say 4500 acres and 300k nw im going to get terrble gains because 4500>>>1500.

Does this mean deep chaining will be more difficult?
    yes AND no.

YES:
    if i have a kd where my smallest person is 1500 acres and 350k nw and my biggest person is 2000 acres and 400k nw and i am chaining an attacker that starts on 2500 acres and 500k nw. I will have more difficulty chainging them deep.
    ---NW based gains---This is because that 2500 acre prov had say 325k nw just in military even if they are 400 acres they would still retain enough nw that im geting nearly base gains per hit using my 1500 acre 350k nw attacker. i.e. 325k hitting 350k results in "good" gains.