Thread: Ladies of Utopia Interviews: Pie

Ladies of Utopia Interviews: Pie

Ladies and gentlemen of the Utopia Community Forums, we are pleased to present to you the fantastic Lady of Utopia, Pie.

Enjoy!

Where do you play from?
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

What is your day job, when you’re not being a Utopian badass?
    I’m a research analyst at an investment bank :)

What are some other hobbies you have?
    Not as much time for hobbies these days but I read a bit, play some Magic: the Gathering, catch up on TV shows in my spare time.

What is something you would like the Utopia community to know about you?
    Being female is probably the least interesting thing about me…

What brought you into Utopia and what keeps you playing?
    It’s all about the people. My brother introduced me to the game waaay back in like 2002, but he’s long stopped playing. I’m still here because of my awesome mentors and kd mates :)

Why do you think the game is generally so unappealing to other females?
    I wouldn’t say it’s unappealing, even though there’s been some uniquely unappealing specimens of people I’ve met in-game. But they’re a pathetic minority and our kd clears them right out, if they random in. I’d say that the same reason the game might be unappealing to women would be the same reason it might be unappealing to anyone else: in this day and age, with all the fancy games with *moving animation*, it’s a special sort of nerd that still finds deep pleasure in a fully text-and-numbers game. I say this with fondness, of course.

What was your first age like?
    I was super noob so I just lurked and played a silent TM for a while.

Do you remember which KD you first played in?
    It’s been a long time, so I can’t remember the name but I remember my first real monarch, Jeff. This was back when communications was MSN messenger and FB didn’t exist. Great guy, willing to show me the ropes when I was a clueless 13 year old with no idea what I had just gotten into.