Thread: Paladin Build Thoughts

Paladin Build Thoughts

I am looking at playing either a Faery Paladin or and Undead Paladin this age and I am pretty new to the game having only played last age, and a human tactician at that. I like the concept of the Paladin buffing teammates and while I haven't figured out which race I want yet, I figured in the early game they should operate pretty similarly(I may be underestimating the extra mana from UD, but IDK). I was thinking a high percentage of guilds maybe 50-60% along with 10% homes, 10% farms and 20% towers to start? Put science in to production and channeling and build defensive military units first while aiming for 2-3 TPA? What do people think of what I have? Let me know your thoughts and we can have a solid informational thread!

Veteran
    With faery vs undead, I'd go for faery. Undead can get disabled more easily and has less good spells to share.

For build, out of war go for as many guilds as you can stick on your province, the above works for oop. Later, you'll want more guilds when you're not warring. I aimed for 7 wpa, 7 tpa and 12-16 epa (depending on honour) last age. Would aim for 4-5 tpa for your first war. You have access to both clear sight and illuminate, so in most wars, you won't need watch towers and can get thieves dens to mod your tpa aswell, making you effective with both thievery and magic.

As for science, start out with 8 in production and the rest into alchemy (to train up). Once you find a war, switch all from alchemy to channeling. After that war, I'd switch all to population; that was the first one I maxed last age as a faery paladin followed by channeling, crime, military, production (didn't manage to finish the last 2).