Thread: *WHY* are Guilds, Labs, and Libs immune to BE?

Veteran

*WHY* are Guilds, Labs, and Libs immune to BE?

This question has been haunting me since I started playing again, because I'm not sure of the reason. The immune to BE for these buildings allows for efficient use of acres when it otherwise wouldn't be possible, and otherwise penalizes provinces that have a good running BE. I get why Homes ignore BE (because they're like the armchair to improve it), but why should these other buildings be exempt? Is there some logic to this?

Libs were originally not affected by BE because they also enhanced BE and created an infinite loop of interdependence. Labs eventually replaced libs and continued to not be affected by BE, presumably as an oversight as no such loop would occur. Guilds were changed so that wizard production wouldn't be affected on highly drafted provs that were idling around between war because it was the trend at the time to give warring kingdoms all kinds of crutches to minimize their downtime between conflicts.
    theHERETICS - Brute Force - Sonata - Dreams - The Pulsing Trollfags - The Expendables
    Visit my home for banned, neglected, and otherwise disenfranchised players on Discord!

Veteran
    Oh yes, I remember old Libs being unaffected by BE and always found it funny because there's no need to have the loop - you could have the BE value only based on the BE value before the Lib boost.